She's Spoken

Advice, opinions, and critical thinking all in one place!

Forward March!

 

Often times in my life I have gotten so wrapped up in forging ahead, in progression and success that I have forgotten to enjoy and celebrate many of the milestones that I have achieved. It was my husband who pointed out my continuous need to progress and not enjoy. With a background like mine good things never lasted too long. Whenever I began to get comfortable or content with my surroundings things would change, and usually for the worse. I remember at one point in my adolescences I was convinced that the month of October was synonymous with all things pertaining to death. It seemed like many of the people that I loved were taken from me in all in the month of October. Sadly, two very key people in my young life were murdered senselessly over some very petty situations. So, because of my past experiences and my need to push on I have let so many milestones pass me by. Happiness knows me only for a moment and then for me it’s on to the next goal, milestone, or whatever the case maybe.

He made me realized that while I know that we are blessed, that I am blessed acknowledging the blessings and enjoying them are really two different things. I have said repeatedly that you must appreciate what you have before God give you anything more. I am a hypocrite in sorts because while I acknowledge the blessings and thank God so much for them, I don’t enjoy them. How can I want more, how can he give me more when I have not learned the art of enjoyment, or innocent self-indulgence? The answer in short is he cannot. I can’t go to him with a new set of goals and ask him to repeatedly help me achieve them if when I get there I forget in the shuffle of moving ahead to enjoy the place he has brought me too. In my hast in moving ahead and ignoring the joy my gifts are intended to bring I am not reciprocating God like behavior, and I am not showing him that I appreciate and enjoy what he has done for me. I am not demonstrating to him that I can handle happiness and truly enjoy success. I have great aspirations but I need to learn to stop and simmer. Boiling is good sometime but life is short and if I don’t enjoy the good today well, we know that I may not have a chance to tomorrow. Please, stop and smell a rose, and allow yourself to become lost its enticing aroma. I will if you will!

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

